FP, F-1: Resource Family Parent Liability Program Claim Form
Notice of Claim Instructions

This form (FP, F-1: Resource Family Parent Liability Program Claim Form) is to be completed by
Resource Parents and third parties who suffer property damage. If you are a third party who suffered
bodily injuries due to the actions of a foster child, please complete a standard tort notice of claim
(Long Form), which is available on the Division of Risk Management website:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/riskmgt/

Section A. #1 is to be completed by the Resource Parent.
Section A. #2 is to be completed by the third party.

The claim must be submitted within 90 days from the date of the incident. Resource Parents must
submit the completed claim form to their DCP&P Resource Family Unit Supervisor, who will sign
off on the claim and forward it to the Division of Risk Management.

Please submit the following documents with your claim form:

1. Estimates for repairs/replacement.

2. Copies of original receipts for damaged items, i.e. clothing, furniture, appliances, etc.

3. Declaration page of homeowner’s/renter’s insurance policy if your claim is for $350.00 or more.
(Should you have no insurance, please sign the attached Affidavit in front of a notary public.)

4. Witness statements.

5. Letters and copies of checks issued by your insurance company, including letters accepting
and/or denying coverage.

Please note that our office does not entertain claims for $75.00 and under. Please keep a copy of
the completed claim form and all supporting documentation for your records and future reference.

State of New Jersey
Department of the Treasury
Division of Risk Management
P.O. Box 620
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
Attn: Tort Section
(609) 292-4347


http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/riskmgt/

STATE OF NEW JERSEY RESOURCE FAMILY PARENT LIABILITY PROGRAM
NOTICE OF CLAIM (FP, F-1)

IDENTIFYING INFORMATION

RESOURCE PARENT: CLAIMANT: (IF OTHER THAN RESOURCE PARENT)
2.
Resource Parent’s Name Name and Relationship to Resource Parent
Address Address
City, State Zip Code City, State Zip Code
( ) ( )
Daytime Phone Daytime Phone
Child in Placement (CIP) NJS (NJ SPIRIT #) Age

DESCRIPTION OF OCCURRENCE:

Date & Time of Occurrence Location of Occurrence (Address, City, State, Zip Code)

Description of Incident (how/why occurred):

Damages: (list below) Replacement/Repair Cost: (list below)
Proof Attached? (Yes/No) Total Amount Claimed:

Insurance Company: Policy #:

Police Dept. where reported: Charges Filed? (Yes/No)

SOURCES OF CONFIRMATION:

NEW JERSEY PUBLIC LAW CHAPTER 320, 1983 REQUIRES THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT ON ALL CLAIM FORMS: “Any person who
knowingly and with intent to defraud an insurance company or any other persons, files a statement of claim containing any
materially false information or conceals for the purpose of misleading, information concerning any fact, material thereto, commits
a fraudulent insurance act, which is a crime, subject to criminal prosecution and civil penalties.”

Signature of Resource Parent or Claimant  Date Signature of DCF/DCP&P Representative Date

Print Name & Title

Phone #:

Date Incident Reported:

F-1 (Rev. 08/2019)



AFFIDAVIT

I residing at

(NAME) (ADDRESS)
in the county of , certify that | had no homeowner’s/renter’s insurance
coverage in effect on at my residence.

(DATE)
| certify the above statement is true to the best of my knowledge and realize any false statements may result

in punishment under the law.

SIGNATURE (SIGNED IN FRONT OF NOTARY PUBLIC) DATE

NOTARY ACKNOWLEDGMENT

State of New Jersey }

County of }

On , in the year 20 before me,

, Notary Public in and for said county, personally

appeared , who has satisfactorily identified him/her

as the signer to the above affidavit.

Notary Public

Print

My commission expires:

(Seal)
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